Select Page


Sorina Pintea
Minister of Health of Romania

Born on the 13th of September 1965, Sorina Pintea is by profession an economist, with experience in the field of healthcare, as well as business management, public administration, project management and consultancy.
She has lived, worked and studied in the north of Romania until 2017. She holds a degree in economy from Babes-Bolyai University in Cluj-Napoca, and has trained in various complementary fields including business administration, public administration, project management and hospital management.
Her entire professional career was built on her strong economic abilities, and she was a consultant, director, manager and has developed projects that many have deemed unsalvageable.
She was manager of the Pneumophtisology Hospital Dr. Nicolae Rusdea Baia Mare for four years with very good results, which encouraged her to take on a bigger challenge, that of managing the Emergency County Hospital Dr. Constantin Opris Baia Mare. Her management skills were widely recognized in the community, as she managed to boost investment, raise salaries and raise the profit of the hospital.
In 2017, on the Romanian Army Day, Ms. Pintea was awarded Honorary Membership in the Commander’s Grade by the Military Order, for her dedication and results in the healthcare field.
Ms. Pintea has been a member of the Social Democratic Party since 2009, and was elected senator in the 26 Maramures constituency in December 2016. She was a member of the committee on labor, family and social protection and vice chair of the commission for the investigation of abuse, combating corruption and petitions. In early 2017 she resigned from the senator office in favor of continuing her work in the aforementioned hospital. In January 2018 she became the Minister of Health.
Ms. Pintea is married and has three children. Besides Romanian, she speaks English, Italian and Russian.


Martin Seychell
Deputy Director-General for Health and Food Safety, DG SANTE

A graduate in chemistry and pharmaceutical technology, Mr. Seychell specializsed in Chemical analysis. He has held important positions on several government boards and commissions in Malta, including the Food Safety Commission and the Pesticides Board. Mr Seychell occupied the post of Head of Directorate at the Malta Standards Authority between 2001 and 2006. He has been responsible for the implementation of a number of EU directives in the areas of risk assessment, food safety, chemicals and cosmetic products legislation. Additionally, he has actively participated in negotiations on major technical proposals such as the new chemicals legislation, REACH, and in screening processes in the areas of free movement of goods, environment and agriculture during the process leading to Malta’s accession to the EU. He held the post of Director of Environment in Malta between 2006 and 2011. As Director, he was responsible for a broad range of functions arising from the Maltese Environment Protection Act. He was appointed Deputy Director General for Health and Consumers at the European Commission in March 2011. Additionally, he is responsible for directorates dealing with Consumer affairs, Public health and Health systems and products (SANCO). 2014 – to date: Deputy Director-General for Health in the Health and Food Safety Directorate-General (SANTE).


Karsten Uno Petersen
Member and health rapporteur of the European Committee of the Regions

Karsten Uno Petersen is a regional council member of the Social Democratic Party (S) in the Region of Southern Denmark, where he is chairman of the Innovation Committee, Vice-Chairman of the Committee for Regional Development and a member of their Executive Committee. He is also a member of the European Committee of the Regions in Brussels and other European health organizations.
Karsten Uno started his political career in 1993, became county councilor of Ribe County Council, and he has been a regional council member since 2005. Besides being a regional council member, he is the director of the company LiveAid.


Jon Barrick
President, Stroke Alliance for Europe

Jon Barrick is the President of the Stroke Alliance for Europe, a coalition of Stroke Support Organisations, as well as a Board member of the World Stroke Organisation and Chairman of the WSO World Stroke Campaign. Both his Mother and Father had strokes. Until July 2016 he was Chief Executive of the Stroke Association, the UK wide charity dealing with all aspects of stroke. In 12 years in that post the charity grew threefold, providing over 350 services at local level to stroke survivors and their families, with over 450 affiliated stroke clubs and long term support groups throughout the country. Jon has been made a lifetime Vice President of the Stroke Association.
Jon played a key role in ensuring the development of the National Stroke Strategy in England. This model of stroke support organisations, informed by stroke survivors wishes, has been advanced by sharing this concept to other countries. Jon helped to build a coalition of Stroke Patient organisations across Europe from 7 organisations to 32. In time, it is hoped that each of these stroke support organisations will grow in their own way to advance the cause of stroke survivors, stroke research and better support in each of their countries.
Previously Jon was UK Director of Community Services for 15 years at the Royal National Institute of the Blind, and chaired the committee on Aging and Blindness for the World Blind Union where he gathered his expertise in the governance of international voluntary sector activity. He has been Trustee with a host of various organisations in the past including jointly chairing the British Neurological Alliance of over 50 neurological charities, and being a Trustee of the Association of Medical Research Charities (over 150 charities researching medical conditions).
Jon himself appeared in the top 5 ranking of Britain’s most admired Charity CEO’s in 2006 and 2013.


Bo Norrving
Coordinator of the Stroke Action Plan for Europe 2018-2030

Bo Norrving is professor in neurology at Lund University, Sweden. He has authored >300 publications on clinical stroke research including several seminal papers e g the Swedish Aspirin Low Dose Study, and the world’s largest study of stroke in the young. He is a founder of Riksstroke, the world’s 1st national stroke registry. He is member of the advisory group for ICH 11 at WHO. He was the President of the World Stroke Organization (WSO) 2008-2012, and continues as Immediate Past President till 2016 being the WSO liaison person with WHO and the UN. He chairs the WSO Global Policy Committee.


Cathy Smith
Professional moderator, SpeakEasy

Cathy Smith is the founder of the Brussels communications company SpeakEasy.
She specialises in conference moderating, media and crisis training all over Europe.
Cathy worked for the BBC for many years as a reporter and presenter. She is a former Brussels-based correspondent for both the BBC and GMTV and was a main presenter of Channel Four News and ITN World News in the UK. She also fronted European Journal for DeutscheWelle TV from Brussels.